Roar defeat the Bulls

Macarthur FC had a tough day at the office after being outplayed by Brisbane Roar in a 3-1 defeat at Moreton Daily Stadium.  

The Bulls had a tough start when Brisbane opened the scoring after one minute of play by Nikola Mileusnic. Macarthur struggled in the first half to create chances while allowing space for The Roar to get into the final third. 

The Bulls conceded for the second time before Adrian Mariappa kept the game alive with his close-range header. However, Brisbane scored their third of the night securing the win over the Bulls.

Key Moments

2’| Goal for Brisbane Roar. Jay O’Shea provided a through ball before Mileusnic went around the goalkeeper and put the ball into an empty net.

23’| Filip Kurto made a fantastic diving save after Mileusnic struck the ball from outside the box.  

49’| The Bulls received a lifeline when Henry Hore’s goal was ruled offside.

54’| Macarthur came close to scoring when Lachie Rose made a well-timed strike from long range, but Macklin Freke denied it.

57’| Ulises Dávila had the chance to score the equaliser when he had a shot inside the box, but The Roar defenders blocked the ball, which made it easier for Freke to save.

60’| Goal for Brisbane Roar. Corey Brown scores a great volley from the edge of the box after Kurto punches the ball to clear it.

68’| Kurto makes a great save to deny Kai Trewin’s close-range header, which came from a corner kick.

72’| Kurto makes another crucial save after preventing Brown’s low-hard shot from close range from going into the net.

74’| GOAL FOR THE BULLS! Mariappa has scored to keep The Bulls hopes alive with a well-timed header from close-range, which Aleksandar Susnjar assisted with a terrific cross.

78’| Goal for Brisbane Roar. De Silva gives the ball away inside the box, allowing Hore to get it past Kurto.  

82’| Dávila attempted a header after a cross from Tommy Oar, but it went wide.

87’| Substitute Apostolos Giannou had the chance to close the gap after Freke saved his close-range shot. 


Brisbane Roar: 3 (Mileusnic 2’, Brown 60’, Hore 78’)

Macarthur FC: 1 (Mariappa 74’)


Brisbane Roar: 1. FREKE Macklin (GK), 2. NEVILLE Scott, 3. BROWN Corey, 7. AKBARI Rahmat, 8. STEINMANN Ville (15. DALEY Jesse 75’), 10. MILEUSNIC Nikola, 13. HORE Henry (21. OLSEN Nicholas 83’), 19. HINGERT Jack (35. ZABALA Louis 61’), 23. LESCANO Juan 29. DEHMIE Cyrus 75’), 26. O’SHEA James (C), 27. TREWIN Kai

Substitutes: 12. HOLMES Jordan (GK), 4. MLINARIC Anton, 11. LOFTHOUSE Jez


Macarthur FC: 12. KURTO Filip (GK), 2. McGING Jake, 6. JOVANOVIC Aleksandar (4. MEREDITH James 75’), 8. MUTCH Jordon (11. OAR Tommy 46’), 10. DAVILA Ulises (C), 15. SUSNJAR Aleksandar, 17. NOONE Craig (35. TOURE Al Hassan 63’), 19. RUHS Michael (99. GIANNOU Apostolos 46’) 23. MARIAPPA Adrian, 24. M’MOMBWA Kokola (7. DE SILVA Daniel 46’), 31. ROSE Lachlan

Substitutes: 1. SUMAN Nicholas (GK), 22. ROSE Liam


Venue: Moreton Daily Stadium

Referee: Kurt Ams                

Assistant referees: Nathan MacDonald and David Walsh

Fourth Official: Adam Kersey